• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

New User - With An Unhealthy Fear Of Dentists!

A

Andria24

Hey to all. As per my title, I'm a new user. Had been looking on the web for some hints and advice re my incredibly bad fear and this site was right at the top of the page. I'm glad I checked the site out.

A little history - I'm relatively new to dental phobias.

Always had regular dental treatment. Never been overjoyed at dental visits, more a 'needs must' thing.

18 months ago, whilst in Lisbon, a back lower left wisdom infection flared up. I thought nothing of it at the time. Found a dentist in the city, was prescribed anti-biotics, return visit booked for the following week.

Returned for the consultation re 'what next?'. Explained that my infection hadn't completely gone. The dentist (native Portuguese one) said it was no matter - it needed to come out anyway. Not happy but hey - I wasn't the professional.

I pointed out that whatever, it wouldn't numb due to the infection. He convinced me I was wrong. Consequently he made me feel quite silly and so the extraction went ahead - no anaesthetic. He did try, I indicated it hadn't worked, he said 'let me at least put pressure on the tooth to see' kind of thing.

I let him - he simply initiated the extraction. Then followed some 40 or 45 minutes of utter agony. Turns out the wisdom tooth had a hooked root. He ended up having to split it and then proceeded to dig it out.

Halfway through he took a five minute break (!) as he was half shattered, and, it turns out, panicing that he wouldn't get the tooth out. By this time I was reduced to a mess and in shock.

He eventually dug it out, then had to insert stitches. Nice.