• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Top Tips for Cavity Free Kids

R

robendicott

By Dr Rob Endicott

I was at a Childrens Party this Summer for a fellow classmate of my 4 year old son. I was talking to one of the mums there about her little boy Charlie and his recent experiences with the Dentist. I had mentionned to her that I was a Phobia Dentist, treating people who were really nervous of going to the dentist so she explained all.

Charlie had a cavity. His mum knew about it already, she had spotted a black mark on one of his baby teeth. Charlie was complaining about this tooth every time he ate so it was obviously starting to cause him pain. Charlie hadnt been to the dentist yet, she didnt feel he was old enough to understand and probably wouldnt have kept still in the chair.

Mum was already absolutely mortified, was she being a really bad mother? Had she been feeding her child lots of sweets? Was Charlie not brushing enough? Her child was in pain and she believed it was her fault, how could she have let this go unnoticed? Was it her fault her child was suffering? The guilt was already building up and really would not be helped by what happened next.

So, she went to a local dentist. It really didnt go well. Firstly, the Dentist AND the Dental Assistant made the mum feel so small, so patronised for allowing Charlie to have sweets and fizzy drinks, not brushing enough and not having been to a dentist earlier to prevent the cavity from appearing in the first place. Mum knew all this already, was already feeling guilty, so that guilt was absolutely confirmed by the Dentist. Mum at this point is wondering where the exit is.