• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Book that literally changed my life

jjh6ytrh

jjh6ytrh

I know...so many people say that and it sounds so passe, but in this instance it really did. It changed my life only because fear, anxiety, and panic disorder ruled my world for years. I spent loads of time on meds, with counselors, etc. - the typical things most people do. However, when none of that was really working, I changed my mode a little bit. I started studying, in depth, anxiety disorders and panic disorder. This really helped me feel much more in control, understanding the cycle of fear (i.e. I had a panic attack and it was awful...I then spend all my waking hours in a state of anxiety fearing another panic attack until I get so worked up that i have another one, then worrying again - if you can break this cycle you will make a huge leap forward).

I still was not quite there until about 4 years ago when someone recommended the book called "Hope and Help for your Nerves" by Dr. Claire Weekes. I know it is a cheesy name and I think she wrote it in the 70's, but this-lady-gets-it. The way she presented it was so much different than any other school of thought and it shows. I read the whole thing in 2 days - it is actually a little book, but for me that is still good.

There are sections on depression, but mostly anxiety.

If I could offer one thing to any of you here it would be to find this book someway, somehow and give it a shot - you have nothing to lose.

It was not as if I was instantly "cured" after closing the cover, but the tools and trains of thought she suggests were really the lynchpin that I needed to ramp up my recovery! Good luck and Godspeed to you all.