• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Vaso Vagel Syncope

K

kathleen

Hi everyone! Am I glad I found you guys.  :jump:

I had been avoiding the dentist for 5 years. Since I had a root canal that didn't hurt at all just freaked me out. The last appointment I had to finish the procedure the dentist refused to give me the nitrous and i wound up throwing up the utensils in my mouth. I was mortified. He was not thrilled. And I didn't go back for 5 years. Never got a crown on the root canal and went for a year with a new cavity that had cracked another tooth.

So  now I've finally gone to a wonderful dentist who told me the two teeth needed to come out and that given my phobia I really should have general anesthesia.
I met with the oral surgeon first to discuss me fears and options. He gave me valium for the night before and morning of the procedure. Said I would be given nitrous oxide for the insertion of the IV (another fear of mine, never had one. not good at all with needles)

About a week ago I had the appointment. I had to leave without having the procedure done because I have this vaso vagal reaction  where my blood pressure plummets and i pass out. I cannot stand that feeling. I'm sure others have had it. The sweating, nausea, etc. and of course feelling like a fool cause i know there is no logical reason for this reaction & I wish I weren't this way.

Now I have another appointment on July 31. He is going to give me some other seditive pill & have me lie down in the office trying to "relax". He said if one didn't work we'd use another. But I'd have to go to a hospital for the procedure if I cannot get past the vaso vagal thing. He won't put me under if my blood pressure is not stable.