• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

20+ years of not seeing a dentist... is over

L

LetsDoThis

I am a 38yo male, who is a moderate smoker, and have not seen a dentist in 20+ years. I have been agonising over going to the dentist for the last 4 years or so since my wisdom tooth started hurting. Not for the pain, but for the embarrassment of such bad oral hygiene. My last actual checkup would have been in my late teens - although i did get a wisdom tooth out about 6 years ago (not a pleasant experience - the dentist was not very good!!).

Lately i have been very depressed and moody, and it was taking a little toll on my family and work as i have been short tempered (especially with my kids.. not mean, just quick to stop them from being kids). i have hated myself for this, and knew it was my teeth that was causing the problem.

My wisdom tooth has been causing me issues, had a few sore teeth, and being a smoker, i could see i was getting/have gum disease (but no bleeding gums). In the last year i have been brushing, flossing and mouth washing like it was going out of fashion. Multiple times a day, thinking i could fix this at home. But i was still depressed and constantly worried/stressed about it.

So 2 weeks ago i made the big move and booked an appointment with a dentist (after researching my local area, and reading this forum). I have been worried constantly, and last night could not sleep at all, as my appointment was today... i resigned myself to the fact that i need a few teeth pulled out, and the dentist was going to make an example of me and scold me.