• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

shaking

H

happy_thoughts

My story isn't anything new or unusual, yet it's freaking me out! As a coworker of mine would say, I'm obsessing over it. True, I am, and I guess that explains why I'm choosing to post here rather than talking to her about it! So here I am.....

Short but simple background: had a less-than-pleasant, ie nightmarish, experience with laughing gas when I was younger and getting teeth pulled in preparation for braces. Quit going to the dentist when I graduated from high school (no more insurance, little desire to go). Last Feb I had a wisdom tooth break and cause intense pain. Got it pulled which was a remarkably painless procedure at a great dental office (though just the smell of the dentist office nauseates me). Got married in APril and consequently got insurance (thank you hubby!).