• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

first dentist appointment in years!

S

socialhazard

Hey all, I'm new to this whole forum thing.. and relatively new to the dentist. I'm 25 now, but growing up as one of 6 kids, my parents couldn't afford dental insurance for all of us. And until very recently, I couldn't afford it for myself. And now that I have it, I wanted to get my teeth checked out since it'd been a good 15 years since my last dentist visit. I went about a month ago to discuss what needed to be done, and they let me know that I would need a deep cleaning, and that I have one cavity that needs to be filled. My appointment is Friday, and I'm freaking out!

I'm very concerned about the deep cleaning. I have the most awful gag reflex in the world. I have some tartar built up right on the inside of my front bottom teeth that they'll have to get to, and they said I'll be in some pain afterwards because it'll basically leave some nerves exposed. I don't really have a valid reason to be scared of the dentist, I've never had a bad experience. I'm just scared to death of gagging, not being able to breathe, being in pain & not being able to do anything about it, etc.

They said they would dope me up on laughing gas, and numb my gums. I'm pretty psyched about that part. I'm just wondering if anyone who has had a deep cleaning can give me a little insight as to what I can expect.. and can anyone give me an idea as to how laughing gas really works? I mean, I'm sure it's not as dramatic as I see on TV, haha, but is it really helpful? And if anyone has any thoughts on gagging, I'm all ears. ;D