• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Yesterday I had 4 top front teeth extracted and partial denture...

P

Poppy36

and it looks great. I have the pretty smile I wanted. However, I feel like I have a great big lump of plastic in my mouth and am just hoping someone can tell me that you do get used to it.

Also, I took it out to clean today as advised after 24 hours. There is no way in a million years I want my husband to see me without it, and I don't want to take it out at night. I've read all sorts of differing opinions as to whether I should or not...maybe I should put this in the dentistry questions area also.

Just, any positive experiences? Thanks.

Sorry I have no experience but I just wanted to say well done:cheers:. I really want my front teeth out so I can smile

Hi Poppy

Congratulations first of all on your new teeth! :)

I know it is not exactly the same but last November I had two fixed bridges applied to my upper jaw. Initially I must say I was a little disappointed...they looked great and natural but they didn't feel part of me. Biting was distinctly odd at first and my speech patterns were affected slightly.

Over the period since they have gradually settled down and I no longer think of them as 'false' every time I bite and words with s's no longer cause me panic!. Can't really help re the removal thing as these are fixed but I can't imagine hubby's reaction would be as bad as you might think. Much worse things happen at sea!:) Has he not noticed you have suddenly grown nice new teeth???

Last edited:
How do dentures work? I mean how do they stay on gums? Will they stay on gums that had one been infected?