• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Baby Steps of an optimistic stresshead (22 YO Female)

A

anxiousbum

I have a feeling that documenting my feelings will really help me. Helping other people in a similar people will be a bonus too.

So I've just finally moved out of my parents house and am now living with my boyfriend, yay! :) Personal circumstances back there meant that things may have been left to slip a little. Now it's time to embrace the change, do things that scare me and take care of myself. I've mastered the diet thing, so now my teeth (or more accurately my messed up gums)!

I don't know if my teeth have been bad for a while or if I'm just getting into the habit of not running away from my problems. I'm embarrassed to say that my oral hygiene was a little (very) crappy before I moved out. I don't really remember ever being encouraged by my parents to brush my teeth and due to my mothers severe anxiety of the dentist, she decided not to take us anymore and made sure we knew that it was a horrible place to visit. Boy I wish that she had though. But that was back then, I am an independent adult (sometimes :giggle:) now and it's time for me to take responsibility for myself. I want to be able to tell my kids, one day but hopefully not anytime soon, that the dentist is fine and have the smile to show for it.