• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

abject fear, mortal regret, etc.

B

bluepencil

hey all. so I don’t really know where to begin.

I have a bit of dental trauma from when I was a little kid and I’ve been a avoidant, though not completely (thankfully) of dentists, but I think I’m stressed enough now that I don’t even care and it seems stupid in hindsight.

This story really starts when i was a teenager. When I was like 17 I went to a dentist who said I needed a lot of fillings, like 14. I'd had braces and didn't take care of my teeth that well. I also have adhd and some mental health problems and I am not good at self advocacy, and tended to just follow my mother’s health advice, which was stupid of me. My mother is deeply mistrustful of dentists, and took me for a second opinion at a ‘hollistic’ / conservative office and they said I needed three fillings, one molar and one in each of my front teeth and we’d just watch the small ones/ soft spots. I’ve been with them since then and had another molar filled some time between now and then, all composite resin. My father also has a lot of fillings (like 10-15) and I didn't really think about it. I went for a cleaning probably once a year between 2016-2020 and I never went to the dentist in 2020 because I was scared of coronavirus but now I regret that.