• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Broken Tooth! I'm terrified!

C

canadiansherri

Hello!. this is my first time posting one of these, so I hope I have posted it in the right section :(. Anyway, Today I was eating popcorn, and I guess I bit down on a kernel, and my tooth broke in half. But, both sides of my tooth are still attached to my gum(it was one of my molars I believe, second last tooth, and I have my wisdom). One side still seems attached perfectly to my gum, but the other side is loose, and hanging off sorta. Now I've had work done before to this tooth(a filling). It's broken down the middle. No pain at all suprisingly, just the gum hurts because the part of the tooth that is loose is kinda rubbing against it. I have a dentist appointment on Wednesday, which is 2 days away. Now what I'm scared of is that the dentist will say I need a root canal, I went through one of those once and refuse to do it again. I'm really hoping he can fix the tooth, just repair, work his magic. Ugh, I'm SO scared it's all I can think of. I'm very much afraid of the dentist, always have been and probably always will be. If anyone has ever gone through anything like this, breaking a tooth like I have, or anything simular, please let me know the outcome for you! I appreciate it!

-Sherri :confused:

Hi sherri :welcome: