• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Cavity turning into Root Canal Tooth?

J

jweisberg

Hello,

I went to the dentist Saturday for 3 fillings. As he did one he said that, upon closer inspection, the tooth would need a crown and possibly a root canal if the tooth still hurt after the filling. Shouldn't the dentist have noticed the severity of the decay in the first place?

Also, now my jaw on the side that the rotten tooth is is hurting, I can't discern if it is my jaw muscle that is sore or if my tooth that is in need of a root canal. How can I tell the difference?

Hi,

I wish I could be of help, but I'm not an expert at all! However, I too have a similar concern. Back in October a dentist did three fillings for me. The teeth had not caused me any pain previously but after he worked on them they hurt, especially the one that he did a tooth colored filling on. That tooth was never right after that, and now it's causing me a lot of pain and I'm probably going to be making an appointment tomorrow and I imagine I'll have to have a root canal...which is outrageous.

I don't like how your dentist is basically saying "oh, so after I charge you for a filling if it doesn't work I'll have to do a root canal". I personally would go see another dentist and get a second opinion, especially if you are not comfortable with the one you're seeing now.

If you are in pain I suggest oragel. I purchased some tonight and it's helping.

Hi jweisberg,

Shouldn't the dentist have noticed the severity of the decay in the first place?