• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone with an extreme fear of the dentist or dental phobia. Please note that this is NOT a general dental forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Come back in six months!

K

KatyJ

Hi everyone

i have been a periodic dentist avoider since leaving home at 18, before when my mother used to force me to go (good for her!). I had trouble with my gums after my 3rd child was born about 16 years ago and there was a seemingly endless stint with a periodontist. Between that time (1998) and 2008 I was pretty good at going to the periodontist for checkups and cleans but after that year I just stopped. Fast forward to August this year where a bottom right tooth started giving me serious I'm-going-to-keep-you-awake-at-night-until-you-stop-ignoring-me pain which antibiotics and Panadol didn't alleviate. So I went to a local dentist and said 'I don't want you to tell me anything about my teeth I just want you to fix the one that's hurting.' And he did, with a root canal. It took four sessions. Then I gave myself a month off and went back for a clean and x Rays. Then three more fillings , the last of which was this morning. And then I got the joyful "see you in six months!"

I am a terrible dental phobic with a great imagination for the most horrific possibilities. This was really hard for me and when I was in the depths of the root canal I was feeling very sorry for myself indeed. But the hardest appointment was the x Ray and clean where I was sure they'd all fall out after the plaque was scaled off or he'd tell me they weren't worth saving and I'd need dentures. But somehow I got myself there and my teeth are still in my mouth (not Hollywood teeth by any means, but they're in there).