• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Completely clueless and absolutely terrified

P

Petra

Hello all. I'm a 22 year old student, and I'm currently fending off panic about my dentist appointment next Monday. This will only be the 2nd time in my life I've been to the dentist. Last time was probably when I was 8 or 9, and they didn't even take x-rays or do a cleaning... just yanked a baby tooth that wasn't coming out on schedule. My whole damn life I've been embarrassed that I never went to the dentist like everyone else, and absolutely terrified that once I finally do go I'll find out that everything in my mouth has gone horribly wrong and I need root canals and extractions and braces and fillings 'til the cows come home.

But things have been hurting lately, and I've finally gotten my act together and realized that the longer I wait the worse it'll get and the more painful and expensive things will be... I know I have at least two cavities that I can see and probably at least one more that I can't, and to top it all off my wisdom teeth are coming in. I'm tired of pain, and I'm terrified that if I wait any longer I'll never get around to it and I'll lose my teeth, so after hanging up a dozen or so times, I finally stayed on the line long enough to make an appointment.

So now Monday is doomsday, and I'm simultaneously dreading it and wishing it could be sooner so I wouldn't have this long to worry! Ack. The worst part is that this is a COMPLETE and utter unknown.