decay under a white filling question

C

careforteeth

Thank you to all of the dentists and moderators of this forum who have volunteered their efforts and expertise. This forum is a valuable resource that is so appreciated.

This is my first time post, after having visited this forum over the past year.
This has been a difficult year for me, which has included ongoing dental work, and for the first time ever in my life, I have developed dental anxiety, to the point where there have been times when I have had continually obsessed about the care and preservation of my teeth.

I would like to ask about the following:

In recent months, I have noticed a dark circular spot underneath one of the white fillings that I have on a lower molar. Around this white filling, on one side there is also a black line around the margins.
At a recent routine cleaning and check-up, I asked the dental hygienist as she was cleaning my teeth her thoughts about whether this black spot under the filling was possibly decay.
During the dentist’s exam, I asked her the same question about this concern.
Both of them felt that this did not look to be decay, but was more likely staining under the filling, and they did not feel that there were any obvious problems with the margins of this filling. This filling has been in this tooth for around 10 years or so, I recall, and I was told by my dentist that this filling is not that deep.
Routine x-rays were done at this exam, where my dentist did not see anything concerning.

My questions are:
Is it fairly normal to have a patch of dark staining like this under a white composite (or ceramic?) filling that is not decay? How would it get there?
Could this be decay that is not showing up on an x-ray because it is right under the filling?
When does a dentist decide to replace a filling in a case like this?
Does this warrant maybe seeking out a second opinion?