• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is very afraid of dentistry or who suffers with dental phobia. Please note that this is NOT a general dental forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Dental Implant vs Flexible Partial Denture?

AngelCatMei

AngelCatMei

Hi all,

I've scheduled an appointment with my dentist for CT Scan and guided implant planning in a few weeks time and in about a month or so, I'll be able to get the implant in.

I've been missing my lower right first molar since about 2 years plus ago? After a failed root canal, I've gotten it extracted out. I should be getting an implant in sooner but I pull out of plan despite already getting an consult and CT scan done 1 year plus ago.

I went for my regular cleaning last month and took a full mouth xray as a routine and my dentist urge me to get an implant soon as my lower left second molar is slowly shifting forward to the empty space.

I've my own fear about implant as I saw some blog about how some people gotten a bone infection after getting the implant and they got to remove the implant. I'm afraid that my body will reject the implant as I'm quite sensitive to it. I think that's the reason why my root canal failed (I've another root canal in my upper right first molar now and it just never felt right since the treatment).

I texted another clinic asking if they do flexible denture for just one tooth. They said they it's doable but they don't recommend it as mucb as implant, especially for cases where patient is already losing lots of bone. My current dentist don't wish to do denture for me despite my asking multiple time. The reason is because I'm still young so they're constantly pushing for implant. Tbh I couldn't even afford an implant, hence, I left that gap for years till now. I even got a loan from the bank for this implant, so I don't wish for it to fail :(