• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Dentist has chipped away some tooth & filling, what to do?

N

Nicci

I've been a member here before, so I'm not a newbie..

I've built up some trust with my dental practice over the last 4 or so years, however I'm not entirely happy with my current dentist.
I just don't feel he's confident, or very patient with me.. I don't ask for much, I don't think I'm a nuisance, I just require a bit of patience and my treatments breaking up into manageable / bearable appointments.. But he makes me feel a little like a nuisance and he doesn't talk to me very much.. I'm used to the other dentists giving me info without me having to ask and a little reassurance during treatments.

anyway, I went today for a cleaning and a filling (one more filling to come, I asked to break it into two appointments) there's still plaque right in between the gaps on my teeth so I don't feel they were cleaned properly, although it's more visible to me on a 10x magnification mirror.. Not so much on a normal mirror/first glance.
(Im also not entirely sure what the point was in the filling today, when I have no teeth underneath that one to chew on anyway.. I appreciate he's probably trying to preserve what I have left even though I can't chew on that side for missing teeth anyway :/ )

But my main issue is that he's taken 2 chips out of my tooth and made another chip bigger - hence the fork I've drawn on my photo indicating the three chips

He's also taken away some of the white filling I had in the tooth next to that one. I've indicated in red where the filling was, the black arrow points directly to the missing bit of filling.