• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

does it ever get better?

L

lilyep125

hi all. i posted a while ago, long story short: horrible past experience, avoided going for 7 years, husband finally made me, and i have at least 10 things to get fixed as well as a deep clean. Anyways i have been cancelling my appts for about 4 months now and have finally been convinced to go with a valium beforehand and nitrous during. Its tomorrow morning and im still panicking but hopefully can actually make it this time. I pretty much have severe anxiety the entire week beforehand (cant sleep, eat, focus at work, panic attacks, etc).Just wondering for those of you who experience this, does it ever get easier? l cant really afford to be like that a week before every appointment, nor can I handle it mentally, and I forsee a lot of those in my future. I dont have any other anxiety issues or take medications for anything. Thanks in advance!

I was really scared of dentists st rhe beginning of the year. I think for me it has gotten easier. So far I've gotten a cleaning (in 4 separate appointments), 2 fillings, and 6 teeth pulled. Then I got fitted with a partial denture which took another 3 appointments but didn't involve needles. I need one more wisdom tooth pulled & 4 more fillings. I took Ativan for my extractions but that's it. for my other appointments I just went. I think if you have a good dentist or helps a lot.