• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Extractions, then a flipper, then a bridge... QUESTIONS!

T

TXMommy06

So, I shouldn't have neglected my dental visits. Apparently, gum disease has left me with pretty much no bone supporting my lower center teeth. The 2 center ones. I was in shock at the dental office...
:o
So, what we'll have to do, is extract them, then I'll wear a flipper for 2 months, let the gums heal. The 2 teeth next to the extracted ones are weak, or something to that nature, so the dentist wants to get them stronger, somehow, and THEN I'll get the bridge. I freaked out about the flipper, but after doing some research, I feel better about it. Will I look terrible? I mean, I'm a teacher, and I work with so many people. I'm self conscious as it is...
My questions:
How many teeth can be replaced in a bridge, and is it even possible to replace 2 that are next to one another? I know that crowns will have to be put on my existing teeth, right? How will it all LOOK when it's complete?
What else will me dentist have to do to my existing teeth to make them OK for the bridge? She said 2 months with the flipper, so I'm just wondering what all it could involve?
I also have to have xrays of the rest of my mouth done, and I am praying that I don't have more extractions coming... at least not now.
I'm really upset, as I'm only 29. She asked if it runs in my family, because it looked very aggressive, and I'm adopted, so I don't know.

Someone tell me I'm not alone!! I am scared to death of all of this. I cried and cried in the parking lot!

Three months wait for a bridge? That's odd.