• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Fear of the Dentist and Grumpy Dentist

N

Nalz

**possibly triggering - mentions of local anaesthetic**

Hello,

I'm a newbie and joined since I have a fear of the dentist. I'll openly admit to neglecting my teeth for years due to depression and anxiety and didn't visit a dentist for 6 years between the ages of 16 and 22. At the age of 22 I found a dentist who helped ease my anxiety and I'm still with said dentist. I have gum disease and try my best to keep up my dental hygiene, flossing as much as I can etc. Flossing was a problem for me at first due to a fear of pulling out a tooth, filling, or crown.