• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Flying after wisdom tooth extraction. ANXIETY!

S

scottie

Firstly, hi everyone. And apologies if I have posted thios in the wrong thread. I am very new to this, so I have posted it under a few apt. headings.

I have my top right wisdom tooth booked in for an extraction in two days and I am basically freaking out!
I like most people with health anxiety did what I shouldnt and read all the horror stories online, so now I am so scared, I have been waking up at 5 in the morning everyday with my heart pounding.

I had my top right wisdom tooth filled a few times now, hoping that I could avoid an extraction, but after last time my dentist said if we need to do anything to it again it will have to be extracted. I am a 44 year old man, acting like Im 12. Its crazy!

So after eating some popcorn, I had a piece lodge and possibly break a little bit of the wisom tooth off, so now if I have something cold or hot it's sensitive. It's not unbearable but its there.

I went to another dentist who does extractions, for a medical practice, and he said he could take it out in 20 minutes. In the chair. just with local anaesthetic. They have an IV anaesthetist in only once a month so I would have to wait if I wanted IV sedation.

So basically I am doing it in the chair with local. I am worried about it and how much it will hurt?!?

I am also worried becuase I have to get on a long 24 hour flight in 4 weeks. The cabin pressure? Is that something that could be a problem so close to having the extraction? Would it heal completely by then? Would I be better off doeing the extraction when I get back? Which will be in two months from now.