• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Front Tooth replaced with partial and I'm freaked out !!!!

S

savinglivestoday

I am a 40yr old female. I am a social worker and am around the public for my job. I have played softball all my life and about a year ago I got elbowed in the mouth. My front tooth became a little loose but at that time I did not have dental insurance. This past Tuesday I was brushing my teeth and my front tooth came out completely. I called the dentist (I dont get dental insurance until Jan 1, 2013...go figure !!) and they got me in the same day. I was crying and embarrassed. The quickest solution was to get a partial denture that has a front tooth replacement. Its basically a retainer with a tooth that I have now.

I am thankful to have a front tooth at least....but when I have to take the retainer out my stress level goes right back up. I can't talk right. I can't eat well. I want to keep the retainer in 24hrs a day but I was told that I should take it out at night.

I know this is all going to take time to get used to but in the meantime I feel stressed and anxious about my mouth.

Any suggestions would help.

Bless you sweetie

Take it from a 53 year old who has recently got complete dentures. My dentist, the lovely Lincoln said he had been to a conference thingy and a guy (can't remember his name), but who is really high up in this country regarding dentures, says, that although some people are told to take their dentures out overnight or whatever to give their mouths a rest, it is really a matter of preference, and as long as you clean your mouth and denture properly, you can have it in for as long as you want.