• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Full dentures at 27 years old, terrified due to awful gag reflex and phobia of vomiting

D

denturesat27

Full dentures at 27 years old, terrified due to awful gag reflex and phobia of vomiting

Hi...newbie here, just looking for reassurance and personal experience. Here's my story.

My teeth started rotting out of my head at 19. It started out as a little chip in my enamel of one tooth, and within 4 years I had to have 7 teeth (plus 4 impacted wisdom teeth, totalling 11) removed surgically. My enamel appears to be too soft but none of the dentists I've ever seen have been able to give me a solid answer on why this is happening. Pieces of my enamel break away, and the tooth quickly turns black. It has made eating an adventure in pain and discomfort and destroyed my already low self esteem.