• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Getting my wisdom teeth pulled in four weeks... a few questions

O

OaklandAsGirl

I stumbled across this forum while frightfully googling IV sedation. Don't worry, I'm not completely terrified of it; I just think I might be a little nervous to be put under. It must be my inherent mistrust of people. Whoever drives me to the appointment... my dad, my boyfriend, whoever... I think I want them in the room while they're being pulled. :p

Anyway, I'm getting all four wisdom teeth pulled in a little over four weeks. I hadn't been to the dentist since high school, and I graduated college three years ago haha. Yes, I know, bad. I fully plan on going more regularly now. It's just when you're a poor college student and then a poor graduate, you tend to avoid it. Anyway, I primarily went because I have a partially impacted tooth on the bottom left that's been "coming in" for ages. As more of the gums subsided, it became obvious that it at least has cavities in it. I went to get that checked and see if any of the rest need to be pulled, and the dentist recommended I pull them all. I had a consult with an oral surgeon on Friday, and I scheduled the extraction with this guy for next month.

Unforunately, the guy wasn't the most friendly, so I didn't ask him all of the questions I had. I think he's just one of those people who is sort of curt without meaning to be rude. The dentist I went to said he's a good oral surgeon, and my dentist is a good guy, so I'm sure he's right. But anyway, I was left with a few questions I want answered.