I’m nineteen and I am so terrified of my teeth.

hel3n2299

hel3n2299

Hi everyone.
I’m new to this and really hope people can relate to this and help me as I’m really losing my mind.
For about six months now I have been completely paranoid about my teeth and can’t stop checking touching or searching the internet for some sort of reassurance!!
The weird thing about this is that I’ve always had pretty decent teeth and never been told I’ve needed to have a filling or that I’ve suffered with gum disease or anything! I’ve also been told my brushing is perfect and I have nothing to worry about.
My biggest fear is off my bottom front teeth.. the gum is slightly receded however it’s been like this for years but only started scaring me recently. My dentist has assured me it’s nothing to worry about but has never done xrays around that area and my biggest fear is there’s a lot of bone loss around the two teeth, they don't feel loose at all but the more I think about them I worry so much I feel as if I’m going to have a panic attack. It’s my first thought at night and when I wake up and I just need some sort of solution to stop worrying!! I’ve never had a fear of the dentist... so much so that I used to be an apprentice dental nurse myself and was absolutely fascinated by teeth- mainly ones in a bad state as well. Please someone help me as it’s stopping me living my life as I’m so paranoid the only solution to put myself at ease is to sleep😢😢

Attachments

Niall Neeson

Niall Neeson

Verified dentist
Hi there,

Happy to tell you that things look and sound absolutely fine. The degree of recession would be regarded as mild on a scale of mild-moderate-severe. Provided your dentist has checked that the attachment levels of the gums in the area are ok (which is almost certainly the case even if it was not explained to you) then there is no need for an x-ray.