• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

I noticed some tartar at the back of my bottom front teeth...

C

CynthiaP

This is my first time experiencing this. Before the pandemic, I was pretty consistent with my oral hygiene and appointments to the clinic for cleaning twice a year or at least once if it was a busy year. However, with the lockdown and protocols in my place, I wasn't able to go for almost a year and a half. I'm nervous about going for an appointment because I am afraid my dentist may reprimand me. I also fear that maybe there may have been permanent damage because I have only noticed it now. However, I think it is a mild case as it is a small build-up and only one tooth looks slightly worse. I think I may also have gingivitis and I don't know how things are going for me.

I am currently in the process of going to my previous clinic to check about their protocols because their line was busy. I plan to do it as soon as possible but I am anxious about the damage or how it would be.

Can someone explain to me how the removal goes, what is the general basis of the damage, and perhaps some words of encouragement or advice as to how I should see my appointment to be. To get rid of my nervousness and embarrassment?

It's very common, it won't do any long term damage and it just needs scaled off by a dentist or hygienist. Most people get a small build up of calculus around the lower incisors if they aren't super diligent with flossing and brushing.

It's very common, it won't do any long term damage and it just needs scaled off by a dentist or hygienist. Most people get a small build up of calculus around the lower incisors if they aren't super diligent with flossing and brushing.