• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

I want to make my anxiety to disappear

J

Jon Ersser

Hi, I'm new to DFC and I found you because I need support to get through, what I'm calling a fightback against my dental fear.

This fear feels so intense and for the last ten years it has been at the forefront of everything that goes through my mind.

The fear truly started on Jan 4th 2010 when I went to the dentist to have a filling. I was so scared and didn't want to go but I had to otherwise this problem would have got worse. I was only 12 at the time. This trip was a bad experience for me. Not because of what my dentist did, but just because I thought of how scary having dental work was.

It was after that where things got worse. I would start brushing my teeth really hard and for around five minutes. This all kept on going and became the norm for how I would brush my teeth for a few years.

Then suddenly in 2014 I had an epileptic seizure and not too long after that I started to brush my teeth for even longer. It got to the point that I would brush my teeth for nearly 20 minutes every time I did. These brushes would also last me just over a month at a time.

Then came the thing that really hit the nail on its head and really got me into a terrible state. In 2016 my wisdom teeth started to come through and I would try to brush them but I couldn't get to them. I started to panic, I knew that I was just a couple of weeks away of going to the dentist as well.

This got me to the point of where it led me to depression and I started to harm myself and wanting to die because I thought that I would have to go through the same procedure as 6 years prior.