• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Immediate dentures

D

Denfinfan

Hi everyone, I spent the last week reading post on immediate dentures, mostly because I wanted to know what to expect so I just wanted to share my experience because I didnt find very many positive posts.
Just a tad back story... I have had dental issues since I was a freshman in high school, from cavities to root canals, to crowns, to bridges I tried darn near everything to save my teeth. At the age of 38 and still needing about 8 crowns I decided that it was time to go ahead and have them pulled. My teeth weren't hurting but they didnt look good at all and it was extremely embarrassing talking let alone smiling without a hand over my mouth. I had 10 upper teeth pulled which I was nervous about but I've had teeth pulled before so I knew what to expect. The pain from the extractions weren't bad at all. The worse part was getting numb, I had 1 molar that was completely broke down to the gums so my face where that tooth was pulled is a little sore other than that, I have very minimal swelling, my dentist did pack the extraction sites with some sort of something that he said would dissolve he also put some stitches in to help with the bleeding and healing. For me the worse part was putting the immediate denture in for the first time. It was awkward and felt weird, it also made me gag for the first few minutes which the dentist kinda talked me through. It's been about 24 hours since the procedure and I am perfectly fine, not in any pain, just a small amount of bleeding. I haven't had a very hard time talking just certain letters get tricky but if you slow your words down and think about what you are wanting to say I find it much easie