• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

information / help/ advice please

D

dddsupermo

Hi everyone,

i am new to this site and like everyone else i am absolutely terrified at the thought of going to the dentist following several bad experiences and no matter how much i tell myself to relax and just get it over with i can't - i just can't go back.
i know i'm going to need a fair bit of treatment and even typing this up i'm feeling really quite sick and weepy and i'm not a squeemish person because i'm a staff nurse and just too embarrassed and afraid to own up.

Does anyone know of any dentists in highland region who are good with people like me -there is no-one in Caithness and i don't know where else to turn -my back teeth are a mess and i'm so ashamed and afraid at thought of having to show them to anyone -one tooth is completely broken with just a tiny, tiny piece above gum line so i kow it will have to come out somehow and another one is cracked.

please if anyone in this area knows somewhere or knows of someone who has been treated by a dentist used to treating people like me please, please let me know. I am willing to travel if necessary hopefully not any further than Inverness as i'll have to have hubby to drive and time off work etc.

thank you so much for this site

Mo:cry:

You can take a look right here on the forum-- there's a whole section where we've all recommended the dentists who have helped us!!

Look under "Dentist Reviews and Recommendations". Hopefully there's someone near you!

Hi DDDsupermo
:welcome:to the site. Be reassured this is the first step in getting yourself sorted out dentally.