• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Kicking myself for not going sooner.

C

Comebackjay

Hey All, new to this forum but I've been fearing going to the dentist for a good 20 years. Had a few bad experiences as a kid and my parents set a bad impression on me when it came to going to a dentist. So unfortunately I tried my best to brush and avoid the dentist at all cost. However even with brushing twice a day it's not enough to keep up with dental care and I found my teeth gathering calculus and the edges turning black (very embarrassing). Still I avoided going and put if off.

Recently I've been thinking about my old experiences and how much times have changed. Reviews have changed, no longer do you just willy nilly go to a dentist and hope it works out. There are now reviews, if that guys sucks people will say something. Tools have changed, noticed this with a lot of postings. Yes those steel scrap hooks are still around but it's not at all like it used to be. Big Advances. And I think just general knowledge and patient understanding have come a long way.

Point is I made an appointment at the beginning of April. Had a consultation and felt more comfortable, I came back for a cleaning which was uncomfortable and unnerving but I made it through. Then came back for a crown, that was fairly scary but I did it and yes it was bad but it had to be done. I still have a scaling in a couple weeks, then another scaling. And I have a few cavities here and there. But I think crown might take literally take the crown for the worst I'll see... who knows.