• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

LONG post - my fear is debilitating

L

leela

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting, I just found this website. Thanks in advance for letting me unload my fears here.

Try to imagine the worst fear you've ever read about, then multiply that by 1 million, then you might start to get an idea of where I'm coming from.

It's not just dental fear - I have lots of phobias. I have a horrible fear of flying and cannot get on a plane, fear of the enclosed spaces, fear of spiders, MAJOR fear of pain, etc. I've been in therapy about my phobias in the past, but it hasn't help at all.

I think the dental fear and flying fear are the two worst. However I don't have to get on a plane, but I do have to see a dentist.:cry:

Which brings me here. First of all, I'm obsessed with dental hygiene because I always believed if you had good dental hygiene it would prevent needing to be seen by a dentist. I get my regular cleanings every 6 months and take excellent care of my teeth, so I was shocked when I started to have tooth pain a couple of months ago.