• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

My first dental appointment in years is tomorrow. I'm terrified.

N

neonjae

Hello everyone! New member here. I have finally taken a huge step and told my parents about my teeth, and the horrible condition they're in. At first I felt relieved and free of stress, but now that the deadline for my appointment is approaching, it's the only thing on my mind. This is my first time visiting a dentist in 4-5 years, if I'm correct, after dealing with a dentist who would belittle me for the tiny cavities I used to get.

I'm terrified that my teeth are much worse than I thought, and that I may have an infection. I have severe anxiety, so I always jump to these scary conclusions, and it's hard to shake it off. I have one very large chip in my teeth along with a few more chips and two big, major, deep holes in my teeth as well, along with discoloration, blackened teeth (which only happen to be the two with the holes in them), and what I assume to be calculus. I've been in this state of bad teeth since around April of last year (I know, it's been a long time), so I'm obviously really concerned for what will happen. I'm only 19.