• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

My Longest Journey

D

deweydecimator

As someone in CBT for an anxiety disorder, I know that journaling helps me process my thoughts and calm my racing mind.

As a lurker on this forum, I know that reading everyone's stories has helped me motivate myself to overcome my anxiety and take action.

As a librarian, I know the best stories usually focus on an epic hero's journey.

This will be a combination of all three. I hope that unloading my feelings and chronicling my journey here will help someone else find his or her own motivation. If no one reads this, well, then at least I'll get this story out of my head where it's driving me crazy.

The Background

My parents had terrible dental hygiene. My dad was a meth addict for most of my childhood. We were poor -- Appalachian mountaineering family poor. My mom worked 3 jobs to pay for our house, our food, their cigarettes, and my dad's drug habit. Our teeth were at the very bottom of a long list of priorities. They never taught me to brush regularly. I don't think I've ever seen them purchase floss. Our diet was terrible because we ate what was cheap. Around 9 or 10, I had huge cavities and an abscess in my molars. I had 3 extractions in the one dental visit I got before age 18, under sedation. I don't remember any of it.