• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

No Dentist appointments in 27 years

• Thread starter Scared stiff 2018
  • Start date
S

Scared stiff 2018

It’s almost 9:00 am on Wednesday 12/06/2017....I have a consultation with the oral surgeon at 2:15 EST. I’m scared out of my mind. Feel my heart pounding, my stomach is tore up. I just want to run away. I keep asking myself why my Parents didn’t take better care of myself . From the age of birth to 19 ( when I graduated from high School) they took me to the dentist twice. The 1st time I was around 10 it was a free Dentist the 2nd time was the $10.00 dentist. He gutted out a LOT of my teeth and now I’m going to have to have 9 of them pulled. My Hubby and Son have been so supportive toward me but that’s doesn’t take away the fear. From having my teeth gutted with no novocaine to being yeled at when I flintched from the pain. To being spanked when I cried at the dentist when I was 10. To telling my maprents at 16 what he was doing to my teeth to hearing “if your not happy with him you can find your own dentist and pay for it yourself”.....,..I keep telling my Hubby “they were suppose to take better care of me”