• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

OMG- a long awaited victory!

shamrockerin

shamrockerin

**post involves discussing needle fear**

Hi everyone,

Most of you won't remember/know me, but I've been on this forum for almost a decade now.

About ten years ago, I had a crowned tooth fall out. I had been avoiding dentists for amost 10 years at that point, so it shouldn't have been a surprise, but it brought back all the fear, anxiety and shame that I had as a child regarding dentists, and it was a very painful journey (mostly mental/emotional) to get myself to a point where I found a dentist I liked and trusted, and could go for regular check-ups to prevent big problems from coming up again.

I've been going to my dentist for a few years now, but I only needed cleanings. This morning I went for my usual 3 month cleaning, and the hygienist (whom I also like and trust) did her usual routine and there seemed to be nothing new.

However, when the Dr. came in for a quick look, he noticed one of my teeth had a tacky spot that wasn't there before. It turns out one of my molars which has a filling already had a little margin around the filling. He said even though it wasn't really a cavity, I should get it fillled because it could lead to decay getting underneath the filing.