• Welcome to Dental Fear Central! This is a place for mutual support and any questions you may have that are related to dental phobia, fear or anxiety. It is run by volunteers with first-hand experience of dental phobia and anxiety together with dental practitioners who like to help. The "Verified dentist" badges will tell you whether an answer has been provided by a qualified dental practitioner. If you'd like to use all the features of this forum and share your own experiences, or if you are a dental professional who would like to contribute, register now.

We strive to promote a safe, friendly and trustworthy environment with our team of moderators monitoring all discussions daily.

Paranoid and terrified..

D

DownInTheGutters

Hi all,

This is my first time on this forum. I have found my way here thanks to Google and my extreme paranoia..

I've recently gotten my first crown. I am determined to do all that I can to ensure it has a long lifespan before needing to be replaced. However I also have roughly 8 or 9 cavities. I have had cavities filled in the past and haven't thought much about it. I somehow manage to go on as if nothing has ever changed. This time is different though.

My cavities are located primarily between my most upfront top and bottom teeth. This is causing me an INCREDIBLE amount of stress.. I've been doing research and I've read that composite fillings only last around 5-7 years.. and when they begin to fail or need to be replaced, some tooth structure unfortunately is taken with it.