• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Scared of Upcoming Dental Work

S

scaredykat11

Hi! I'm new, but I've been lurking for a few weeks now ever since I learned of the dental work I need.

I'm 39, I do have generalized anxiety disorder, and going to the dentist is one of my phobias. Before Christmas '18, I needed to go because I got a bad abscess. I researched the best dentists that deal with nervous patients and found one who was really kind and considerate of my needs.

She pulled my tooth even though I was shaky and nervous (and panicky), and 2 weeks later pulled another! I still can't believe I did all that! But really, the pain was just to much to handle.

But now, I need a lot more work. I need a bunch of fillings and... gulp... a deep cleaning. :cry: Deep cleanings scare me because I remember when my mom had one done, she came home crying and bloodied, and I swore I would never, ever get one of those!

So for the last few weeks, I've been dreading my appointments. I even dread going for the fillings. For some reason, I fear the anesthesia won't wear off, or something else will happen. Even though I was able to get through it in December, I still have these "what-ifs".

I'm also working on it with my therapist. She's suggested trying to visualize my appointment in a positive way, but all I do is think so negative.

How do you get past this?

Keep doing exactly as you are doing.

You are well on your way.

Hi,

It sounds like you are doing well in facing the difficulties and challenges. Please continue in this direction.
I do think that in your case instead in advancing in baby steps you had quite difficult treatments (extractions no less) and still you prevailed.