• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Scared to death of the dentist!

B

Boo88ox

I'm a 32 year old woman, I haven't been to the dentist in over 10years other than going when I have an abscess for anti biotics (bad I know)

The reason I haven't been in so long is because when I was younger I had a dentist who was awful. At my first appointment with her she told me my teeth where awful and that I'd need a lot of work doing to them. She then proceeded to tell me off and said if I wasn't going to stick to looking after them she wouldn't do the treatment.

I went back for an extraction and I could feel the tooth being pulled it was so painful, I told her this, she managed to get a bit of it out then I couldn't take no more I had to go to an emergency dentist to be 'knocked out' to get the rest of that tooth out. Daft to say I never went back to that practice.

My two front teeth broke later on down the line, I was so embarrassed so I went to another dental practice, they referred me to have my front teeth out and gave me a temporary denture. I spent time getting to know that dentist who I actually quite liked, then she moved away :(

I never went back since then as I was well too nervous!

However I am now in agony with my teeth, every time I eat something I'm in pain, I have several cracked, broken and missing teeth. I'm ashamed, I hide my mouth when I speak to someone I never smile either. I can tell people are looking at my mouth when I speak.