• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Severe Anxiety- infected and broken molar

G

Gandalf12

So I’ve had dental anxiety my entire life. I avoid the dentist like a plague. Because of this I have multiple untreated cavities that I know I need treated. Right now my major issue is my molar that broke off -get this- 3 years ago. The entire center of it is gone, all the way to my gum line. I’ve been living with this for too long and it’s gotten so bad that I know the infection is effecting my overall day to day health. I made an appointment with a dentist tomorrow but I’m laying in bed with my stomach in knots. I don’t know if I’m going to cry or throw up from this anxiety.

What should I expect tomorrow? They said an exam and rads was will be taken but I’m so ashamed I’ve let it get this bad. I’m also terrified that they’ll tell me I’ll need so much work done I won’t be able to afford it all. I’m not even 30 years old yet.

Hi Gandalf,

you are in the right place here and first of all: well done to have made the first step. Making an appointment and showing up really is the very hardest part and I totally get how intense your anxiety must be right now. Throwing up, crying, shaking, stomach aches and sleepless nights are nothing unusual when it comes to the first appointment and I hope you will feel a bit better soon. How about to read some success stories here in the mean time to get a bit encouragement?