• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Terrified about extractions, need partial denture

L

Lou234

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here and I'm petrified.

I'm nearly 25 years old and a female, and I've had issues with abscesses and my teeth in general for years. Way too long, because of my fear of root canals/dentists. I know that abscesses are serious problems and I am extremely anxious (so telling me I should have got it sorted out ages ago will not help, I know I should have but we're all afraid of the chair here right??) :redface:

Anyway, it flared up again but this time on the right side on my top incisor. Normally it flares up on the left side. This one was unbearable. I booked an emergency appointment to the dentist and she said it needed to come out. She would have taken it out that day but I didn't want to be without teeth. So I took antibiotics, it swelled up, went down and now it's nearly Thursday, my extraction day.

Here's where it gets tricky. My boyfriend has helped me pay to have my top two front teeth taken out and have a partial denture fitted, but I really REALLY don't want to be without teeth for even a day. I would really want an immediate plate so it helps it to heal.

Would they delay the extraction even longer so I have the chance to have a normal plate? I guess this would cost more though :(

I also don't want to be awake whatsoever for this as I am phobic, and I guess this would cost even more for sedation as well.

So the options are either:

1) Have my teeth taken out and wait weeks, or months, for the gums to heal and have a plate fitted,

or,