• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Thank you Dental Fear Central

A

Aoide

Thank you, thank you, thank you for this board!  I just got back from going to the dentist.  It has been well over 20 years, maybe closer to 25 and this board has been a life saver.

I didn't have any big reason for going after all this time other than I was tired of being afraid and tired of worrying about "what if..."  I started thinking months ago that I was going to go during my summer vacation (I'm a school teacher).  I've been working up my courage, starting to live with the idea of going.

I called around to places based on who took my insurance and I got a very good idea about places based on their reactions to me on the phone.  Just making the call was traumatic and I was crying and some places were very sympathetic and others were impatient.  I ended up choosing a place that isn't on my dental plan, but I will be able to change that when open enrollment comes in January.  They ARE however extremely nice, sympathetic and understanding which is worth so much more.  CALL AROUND.