• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

The last week

D

Deepbreath

Hello all,

Newbie here. I’ve been lurking and reading posts but wanted to get involved today as it has been a stressful week. I’ve not been to the dentist for around 10 years. Annoyingly I actually loved going as a child and then a locum dentist really hurt me and I’ve been terrified ever since. I knew things weren’t good in my mouth and then a month or so ago my front bottom tooth started to wobble. I think I put it off in my mind and started eating on the other side, changing to softer foods, anything to avoid confronting it. On Tuesday morning at 5.30am it came out and I was faced with a horrible looking reflection in the mirror. You can ignore back teeth coming out but I looked terrible and was really upset.

Today I finally attended the dentist and said to him how scared I was. He was great. Very realistic that there were lots of issues not just that missing tooth but will look after me and work through them at a pace I feel comfortable with. He made a brilliant temporary bridge to see me through whilst a denture to replace that tooth is made. Not brilliant at 37 but I’m so glad I went. It is the start of a long journey and I don’t even know all of the things that need to be done yet but I’m on my way. Thanks for being so honest on here - it really encouraged me to face it.

That was a big step ? Im really glad you find a dentist that made you feel comfortable.