• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

twilight sleep for 30 minute tooth extraction

B

brooke cole

So my teeth extraction is tuesday n the dds is going to use twilight conscious sedation on me. Im all new to this so. What should i expect and what did my dds mean by i will wake up quickly? anyone with expierience would help thanx :)

Ask your dentist about it since it csn be knock out then you wale up when they give ya something but they will watch your heart and other stuff too and prepare have soft food since ya can't eat hard after it

I'm by no means an expert on the subject - but when I had the IV sedation for my wisdom teeth, I was taken back into a room that really didn't look much different than any other dentist office and hooked up to a pulse ox machine (the little fingertip thing) and possibly a heart monitor. The nurse gave me the option of where I wanted the IV. I remember the tiny prick of the needle and making a comment that it felt really cold when she injected the medicine. I yawned, said something about being tired and my next memory is of waking up in the recovery room.

I think it took about an hour (but I was so out of it, I really have no idea). A heads up: When you're coming out of sedation, you might feel an urge to cry. My brother and I both did when we first woke up and the nurses said it was perfectly normal and that a lot of people experienced the same urge. I was still pretty tired the rest of the day, but I'm not sure if that was from the sedation or because I was glad to finally be done :grin:

Oh wow. Well as long as you had good expierience n a good dr n that u felt better thats all that matters! :)