• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

why do some dentists give different opinions ?

A

anonfemale

i was told that I had gingivitis with bone loss in one tooth and some recession, andi was also told that I had moderate gum disease. how do I know which is the truth ?. sometimes I find it difficult to brush and floss and find it hard to eat. I have so much anxiety over this.

i was told that I had gingivitis with bone loss in one tooth and some recession, andi was also told that I had moderate gum disease. how do I know which is the truth ?. sometimes I find it difficult to brush and floss and find it hard to eat. I have so much anxiety over this.

Hello, I am not a doctor but I guess you should visit a periodontist who is specialized in periodontal disease and ask for consultation, a periodontist will take a X-ray from you and check the pocket depths of your teeth, once again I am not a doctor at all but I guess a general dentist cannot have the best guess for the condition of your teeth. They don't take x-ray and they don't measure pocket depths.

If I have said anything wrong, please correct

Hi,
I am not sure they are different opinions, more different ways of describing the same situation. Gingivitis, bone loss and recession are all features of gum disease which can be described as early, moderate or advanced. The good news is that with excellent oral hygiene moderate gum disease can be stopped from progressing.

Why do you find it difficult to brush and eat?

Lincoln