• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

wisdom teeth extraction

R

raspberry75

Hello everyone!

I have just discovered this site and am so happy I did!

Next week, I will have my wisdom teeth extracted. I am terrified. I have been avoiding this procedure for 7 years now. My wisdom teeth are now causing jaw pain and headaches. My dentist finally said it is time to do it. I am 30 years old, I have never had any kind of surgery, and am SO afraid of the whole needle-iv sedation-and nitrous O. gaz..... I know I need to do this and I am lucky: my dentist is very friendly and compassionate, but I am still flipping out!

I have a prescription for xanax and will fully take advantage of it. I will be panicking for one week, even at work today I couldn't concentrate!

I can feel my fear taking over..... any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
thank you! I think this board is a wonderful support system

Aurora

:welcome:

Hi, Good for you to take the decision to get this sorted. :) You'll be glad you did I'm sure. It's a bit of a pain waiting for treatment and the mind tends to race over all the possibilities, thats only natural. But usually projecting these ideas of what might happen is not terribly helpful to you. What is it that scares you about Nitrous oxide? Most peeps find it very helpful. Certainly a good idea to take advantage of the Xanax, every little helps :)

Sounds like you have a good dentist too. ;D

Take care

Pars :)

ps I wouldn't be surprised if this thread gets moved to the wizzie section?

Hey...