• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

ROOT CANAL THURSDAY. Need advice about sedatives.

• Thread starter stinkycheesewoman
  • Start date
S

stinkycheesewoman

So yes, I have a root canal on Thursday. I have an abscessed tooth, but it's a dead tooth now, which I guess is why I haven't felt a thing. (My dentist happened to find it when he was preparing the tooth for a crown.)

Anyway, I had a root canal five years ago, but the tooth wasn't abscessed, just dead. Also, they gave me nitrous oxide because I was still under the care of my pediatric dentist, and so I ALWAYS had it. But since switching to my grown up dentist, I haven't. However, despite having one hundred thousand cavities in practically every tooth since I was five years old, my anxiety has never waned. In fact, now that I've been winging it without the nitrous, it's gotten worse. But I've had about six caps put on my teeth in the past two years, and have been able to keep calm throughout every appointment. Externally, that is.

I have a huge fear of puking and at the dentist, that fear intensifies for obvious reasons. And guess what? It happened once, during one of my last appointments with my pediatric dentist, which was also one of the last times I used nitrous oxide. So now I'm scared that the nitrous upset my stomach, because my body can't tolerate it anymore or something. (I was about twenty at the time, and am twenty-four now.)