• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

sheer terror about upcoming extraction

Good luck I would be as afraid as you, but I wish you Good Luck :clover::clover::clover: I am always afraid when I have to have something done, but do you know what?

It has always been okay and I have got through it.

Best Wishes :grouphug::grouphug::grouphug::grouphug::grouphug::grouphug::grouphug::grouphug::grouphug:

Hello:

I had molar #15 extracted this morning. I have mixed feelings about the experience and will post about that later. I am relieved it's over; but I am still quite panicky over the post-op experience. That could be just that this is my first time at the rodeo. But the jury is still out about posting my experience under the "success stories."

I have some very basic questions about a couple of things. I'll ask them here, but if anyone thinks I should post them separately somewhere else, with specific headers, please let me know and I'll move them there. Also, what category should I put them in? These questions will make me look stupid, but I have to take that risk. This is the only place where I know won't be judged. Here goes:

--When they talk about "bleeding," just what does that mean? I have not had any bleeding or oozing. Not as in running out of my mouth or filling up my mouth. However, the gauze that I put in throughout the day, on top of the extraction site, putting pressure on it to stop the bleeding, still has red blood on it. Hours later.