• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Talking really has helped

robotguy

robotguy

Hi all, after lurking for a couple of months I've just joined and wanted to say a big thank-you to everyone who joins in on here. not everyone has the courage to post about their fears but just reading what others have written really helps, this can be a truly lonely phobia.

I have been avoiding the dentist for just over 26 years. My phobia was so severe that I couldn't talk about teeth or dentists at all, seeing TV programs featuring dental stuff had me running from the room, as would anyone even talking about teeth in the same room as me.

My world came crashing down just over two months ago when I had the worst pain ever from an abcess. To be honest, I'm surprised that I haven't have more problems, as I have totally neglected my mouth for years. No amount of pain killers helped this time and I swelled up like a hamster, I thought people with huge swolen chins was just a comedy thing, but it really happens!

I asked my wife for help, I knew I couldn't ring a dentist or talk sensibly about my problems. First of all she got me an appointment with my local doctor. I explained to him that I thought I had an abcess and then he asked to do the thing I dreaded the most, he wanted to look inside my mouth. This was extreemly hard to do and had me in tears from the shame I felt, but I eventually did it. He agreed that a dental abcess was most likely and gave me antibiotics to kill the infection. He urged me to go to a dentist to 'get sorted out' (his words), he offered me mild sedation drugs just to get me to the dentist if I needed them, he could see how hard this was for me.