• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Ashamed of my teeth, another one broke, fed up (pic)

Sugar

Sugar

Hi all. I last posted here over 10 years ago, when I was suffering from agoraphobia and an anxiety disorder which was making it hard for me to see a dentist.

Now I consider myself recovered, I am now a nurse (not dental), no longer scared of injections (I've had a baby so needles were the norm during pregnancy), and I'd say my fear of going to the dentist is lessened - though not completely gone. My stomach still flips a little when I sit in that chair.

Due to a history of drinking cola and acidic drinks, nocturnal tooth grinding plus acid reflux, my teeth are really damaged. 10 years ago I was told that all my teeth show damage and my enamel was thin. Now, they're in pretty bad shape. I have many amalgam fillings. The thin enamel shows the dentin underneath so my teeth look yellow.

About a year and a half ago I had to get some bonding done to the backs of my top incisors, due to bad acid erosion. Got a telling off from the dentist, as usual, for letting it get so bad - I know it's my fault. Advised to only use Pronamel toothpaste and to never rinse it out with water. Fitted for a mouth guard for night time which I hardly wear because I hate how it feels.

Didn't see a dentist throughout my pregnancy because even brushing my teeth made me gag. Wasn't sick much but a lot of gagging and reflux. Made me not want to brush my teeth for very long. I didn't want to risk throwing up on a dentist.