• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Frustrated with trusting dentist, I don't know what is true or just to generate money

A

apolostarr

Frustrated with trusting dentist, I don't know what is true or just to generate money

I've been working on my dental phobia for 5 years now. I am proactive in reading reviews and trying new dentists and getting regular cleanings.
Everything was fine until the lat 2-3 years where I noticed a change in how dentists were working. I also correlated this with Google and Yelp reviews.
More so, all these dentists started out with usual local practice but now they all have fancy interiors, HD intraoral cameras, hd monitors, and other "technology".
I believe seeing anyone who is not a super model with perfect veneers on a HD monitor will show EVERY stain and discoloration. It's as if they adjust the monitor to make the teeth look worse then what it is?

Every new dentist I go to now, in the last 2 years tells me I need 8+ cavities filled and my silver filings replaced because of leakage. Outside of the silver filings in my molars, the other teeth have "soft spots" or precavities that the dentist wants to drill to prevent them from forming into bigger ones.
The "Treatment plans" they print out, all have been between $3,000 to $4,000 of work needed.
I know my teeth very well and have 0 pain or anything bothering me.
They also wanted to do all 8+ all at once, while I was sedated, which makes me nervous because many google reviews I've read are dentists drilling different teeth or around and then billing later.